Church (Chapter 2, Part 1)


Continued from the first chapter of Church in the November archive. I would recommend you read that if you already haven’t before continuing. Here’s the link: https://thestoryfiles.wordpress.com/2014/11/19/church-part-1/

Previously;

Blaze, a warrior angel, who is trapped on earth has made his home in a long abandoned church. He fights a taunting daemon, who leads him into a trap to battle a band of demons before facing a Demigod Bear. He is rescued from death by a strange female called Rain.

Chapter 2

 ‘Let light shine out of darkness’

2 Corinthians 4:6

Still sitting on the damp ground, I tried to study Rain, but she was completely wrapped in darkness both in body and mind. Letting that go for a minute, I gathered myself and stood up. My golden red feather wings stretched out then fell into place down my back. The dead Demigod bear had become a faint outline and the daemon that had led me here and his companions had disappeared. Glancing further around, I saw the destruction to the wooded park. Uprooted trees were lying scattered alongside broken branches of all lengths and the wet group was gorged with the trail of the battle.

I noticed Rain following my gaze and turned back to her. With a glance at the almost faded Demigod, her eyes settled on mine and for the first time I noticed that they were mis-matched. Her right one was light green and the left was crystal blue. Her light brown hair seemed shorter than mine and fell about her in choppy waves. Her face was softly rounded and her skin looked flushed, her nose was small and gently rose up, whilst her lips formed a straight pink line, which dipped slightly in the corners as if verging on a frown.

That concave curved katana of her’s was still out and gracefully aimed at the floor. I couldn’t see a sheath at either of her hips. Watching her closely, I got the impression that she was having a telepathic conversation with someone. Though I wasn’t sure how or why that suggestion had come to me.

‘Are you unharmed?’ she asked me sharply.

I nodded, ‘You?’

‘I’m perfectly fine, thank you. Can you please move back to the treeline? I need to cleanse the area.’

I looked behind me and saw the area she wanted me to go to. However, I didn’t know her or her nature and so was wary. I still held my sword, though it felt loose in my hand, so I curled my fingers around the pommel whilst glancing at her weapon. That blade looked wicked and both sides were sharp, though there was a large row of dark brown triangles along the left side. The guard was small and round, the grab black cloth and the pommel flat. The katana looked extremely light weight and completely different to my great sword.

I didn’t want to turn my back and walk away. Quickly, I tried to think of something I could say either to delay my moving or to seek peace with her. However, she seemed lost to a conversation of her own. Then before I could speak, she gave a slight shake of her head as if to say no and turned her back. The kanata dragged along the ground behind her, leaving a trail that seemed too deep for its weight.

Gradually and trying to keep sight of her as long as possible, I turned and walked towards the treeline. The wounds and aches I had received from my battle and fall were healing, though it seemed slower than normal, which meant that more Heavenly power had been drained. From behind me, I heard a soft voice whispering and I looked over my shoulder as I continued and saw that Rain, though she had her back to me, had drawn a circle around her in the ground and was holding the kanata out in front of her.

I made it to the trees and rested against a twisting trunk. I debated keeping my sword out and quickly decided that I should do, just in case. My thoughts turned to leaving and I realised I could do so, but would she follow me? And would we fight? I was in no condition for that, but I was curious about her and why she had saved me from the Demigod.

I saw Rain drop her weapon tip to the ground. A bright circle of blue light flowed out and away from her, rushing off along the surrounding ground and into the trees. Two waves of white light followed in its wake. They hit me, rippling through me and around, but I felt no effects. They vanished somewhere beyond the trees and my sight.  Fascination sparked within me and stunned I watched Rain turning and walking over to me.

‘I’ve not seen a cleansing like that before,’ I called out.

Rain seemed to lift her shoulders in a small shrug. Just before she reached me, she raised the kanata in both hands above her head. Panic shot through me and I readied, only she slipped the sword down her back and her arms dropped to the sides.

‘I’m not an Angel,’ she stated, ‘nor, am I your enemy.’

‘Then what are you?’ I asked, holding my position, ‘I can’t detach your spirit or aura.’

‘It’s complicated. And right now, it’s better you don’t know. Do you want to come with me? This place won’t be safe for much longer. They are gathering already and I don’t think either of us is ready for another battle.’

‘Come where?’ I asked, slightly lowering my sword.

‘I have a place, if you want. We can talk more there. You don’t have to though,’ she added. A trace of a smile crossed her lips then she turned and started walking away.

Frowning, I sheathed my sword and swept my golden red hair backwards. I felt a little tug to follow her and all ready my mind was made up. Just before she went into the other row of trees, I quicken my pace and fell into step behind her. Questions pressed in my mind and on my lips, but I stayed silent just as she did. We walked out of the park, through the outer skirts of the city and into countryside, which I realised lay in the opposite direction of my home.

Another hour later and still in silence, Rain turned off from the side road we had been walking on and led me down a semi-abandoned dirt road, which inclined gently upwards. We stopped at the top and I looked round. There was a touch of light on the horizon and I noticed that the night was passing. Now opposite us, on the flat top of another hill, I saw some large stones that seemed to resemble a ruined cathedral.

I heard her take a deep breath in and set off again. Carefully, I followed her downwards, though long wild grass and up the side of that other hill. When I got to the top, I saw her standing under a massive arch way. It must have once been the door to the cathedral and there was no doubt in my mind that this place could have been anything else.

‘You are welcome here,’ Rain spoke and disappeared inside.

I followed her, unsure what I would find on the other side, but not expecting what my eyes saw laying out before me.

To Be Continued…

Leave a Reply

