Lonely Heart Day


Broken, Heart, Love, Valentine, Arrow, Blood, Hurt

Balancing the bowl of ice cream on my knee, I hit play on the remote and watch Howl’s Moving Castle start up. I settle back and am just about to have my first spoon full of strawberry swirl, when my mobile beeps a text.

Glancing at it on the coffee table, I debate leaving it but can’t resist. Lacy is asking where I am.

At home, I reply.

But y?

coz changed mind its fine hav fun, I type and set my phone onto my other knee.

Finally, I get a taste of ice cream and moan at the cold, sweet pleasure of it.

My phone beeps and Lacy calls me a chicken. I don’t rely, but seconds later another text comes through and she’s added that there are lots of cute men at the singles party.

I shrug it off, have more ice cream and try to quieten the arguing voices in my head.

What do I need a guy for anyway?

For snuggling on cold nights? For sharing stuff? For…Just being there?

They’re all the same though!

Only because you pick the ones you feel sorry for. There are plenty out there.

 Once they get what they want they just leave. It’s always them and never you.

Relationships are difficult, it takes time, but they are so rewarding.   

 I’m better off alone.

No. I’m worse alone. There’s probably someone out there for me…things just need more time. What was that statistic thing? There’s like a thousand matches out there for each person? How many do I have left? A hundred and ninety-four? I’m bound to meet someone then. Or else…crazy cat woman!

I laugh and scoff the rest of desert down. Placing everything on the coffee table, I snuggle under the wool blanket grandma made and drift off into a fantasy world of bright colours, magic, supernatural and romance.

Leave a Reply

