Two Announcements


Carnival, Balloon, Flags And Pennants

Hi everyone,

I just wanted to let you know about two things, so I’m breaking my run of stories again to bring you this news.

Yesterday, I reached 600 posts on this blog! This feels like a huge personal achievement for me because it means that I’ve been able to publish a written piece for 600 days without breaking the line. Of course, some days I’ve not actual written due to taking a break or being away, but I’ve done the story on other day or else picked one from the stockpile I have. Also, people have contributed their stories which has been so nice of them!  (If you’re interested in doing that please take a look at the submission guidelines; https://thestoryfiles.wordpress.com/submission-guidelines).

Originally, I set up this blog to help get me out of depression and back into writing. I had no idea it was going to continue for this long or that I’d find so much joy in it. Out of it has now come so much; I’ve got around 400 stand alone short and flash fiction stories, three different novellas and I’ve gained a loyal readership/followers from it. And I know I say it often, but a big thanks to everyone who readers my work because its’ due to you and your likes and comments that inspire me to carry on. Here’s to another 600 posts!

Secondly, I’ve decided to take part in the A-Z challenge this month. The idea behind this is that for everyday in April, excluding Sundays, you pick a word starting with each letter of the alphabet and do a post around it.

I’ve been thinking about different ways I could do this over the last week and finally, I’ve gone with having the picked word as the title and using it as a prompt to write a story with and I must include the word at least once in the story. On Sundays, which are not counted, I’ll do either a continuation of the day before’s story or else use the same letter but a different word to create a new story. I know this’ll upset the flow of the alphabet, but I’m not missing a day out!

I know the idea is about blogging more and making connections as well as having fun, but I like the idea of doing some new on my blog. Even though I post everyday, I think mixing it up and being able to write some different stories will be a good thing for both me as a writer and you the reader.

If you fancy joining in and/or want to check out the other blogs taken part, here’s the link; http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/p/a-z-challenge-sign-up-list-2016.html

Lastly, I know I also keep saying this, but I will get around to putting a collection of short stories from this blog into an e-book and publish it on Amazon Kindle. I just need more time and motivation to do that.

Once again thanks for the support and I’d really appreciate it if you could help spread the word about my blog and encourage more people to read my stories.

 

Hayley

Ps. Today’s story will be up soon, so please come back for that later.

Leave a Reply

