The Life Of Leaves


autumn-1655915_1920

I looked up and saw through the translucent autumn leaves. The pale October sun was giving just enough light to see by even though it was the middle of the afternoon. I stopped and for some reason began wondering about the life of a leaves. How did they know when to start changing color and dying? The tree of course felt the cold and knew it was time to sleep. The tree couldn’t photosynthesis with the weak sunlight and the leaves lost their usefulness.

I felt a jolt back to high school biology class. That was probably where the knowledge came from. Why was it important anyway? Who actually cared about these things and the changing of the seasons? They just happened and we did what we normally did, year after year. I frowned up at the leaves and watched the wind moving them. In that moment, the world slipped away. The barking dogs, the people, everyone and thing in the park, but that one tree and me.

I heard the leaves whispering, but I couldn’t make out their words. They weren’t calling to me though. Perhaps, they were speaking to each other or the tree. What were they saying? That it was growing cold it was time for them to move on? I saw the leaves fall, they came and spiraled around me. They were still whispering, but the words were a secret. Then they were gone, the wind carrying them away.

I came back to and looked around in a daze. Everything looked normal. The kids playing on the swings, the dogs chasing balls, people jogging and yet, I no longer was normal. The leaves had reached out to me, they had whispered their story to me and now I felt a change growing within me.

Leave a Reply

